The Tale of Two Taps

Had dinner and lunch out in the Bay area this weekend and got to partake in a few brews.  One of them, is an all time favorite since moving out here a few years ago…the other was a new one for me.  It’s a good example of the trials and tribulations of drinking….sometimes you win, and sometimes you lose.  With that…on to the reviews

Devil’s Canyon – Full Boar Scotch Ale

wpid-20150807_183437.jpg

Presentation:  Out for dinner at the Counter in Santana Row which is one of our favorite family dinner spots.  I also like it because they have a decent beer selection (bottles and drafts).  If you’ve never been, go…..great burgers and they have amazing turkey chili w/ dried cranberries (Thanks Greg!).  Beautiful night, band playing tunes in the courtyard and a Full Boar in my glass…..sweet.  This beer pours with a deep deep brown color, almost black with very low carbonation which makes it easy and drink.

Style: Scotch Ale (another SoL favorite!)

Brewery: Devil’s Canyon

ABV: 7.4%

Method: 22oz glass

Overall taste:   I love the taste of this beer, so good.  It’s almost like a smoked porter but not nearly as rich as a porter but still has that slight smoked flavor that you love in a porter.  Some subtle chocolatey smokey flavor and it’s very smooth going down.  One of the better local beers I’ve found here in the Bay Area (non-IPA)

Recommended drinking location:  Since moved out here, I’ve honestly had a million of these so I’ve drank them everywhere you can imagine.  With a meal, instead of a meal, outside, inside….whatever.  You really can’t go wrong with this anytime but if I had to, I’d love to try this back East during early/mid October when there is a little chill in the air.

Ideal consumption amount:  So, 7.4 sneaks right into the low end of wheelhouse and it packs a little punch. I think you can get away w/ two of these….44oz of goodness

Similar Beers:  So, Old Chub is kind of the standard bearer here and I think the Full Boar is in that class.  It doesn’t rate quite as well on BA or Tapt but I think it’s right in the same ballpark.  If you like the Chub, you’ll like the Boar.

Napa Smith Brewery – Golden Gate IPA

wpid-wp-1439063686046.jpg

Presentation:  Had this during lunch on Pier 39 today….fish and chips, and an IPA.  Sounds great right?  Well, meh….

Style: American IPA

Brewery: Napa Smith Brewery

ABV: 6.0%

Method: Pint glass with my meal

Overall taste:  This beer just didn’t do it for me at all.  Not enough hops, not enough citrus…..I drank about 1/2 of it and switched to water.  I’m sure plenty of people like this beer, it’s fine….just not quite up the standard I look for in an IPA personally….tasted more like an IPL than an IPA

Recommended drinking location:  For Pier 39, this worked.  Although I didn’t look at the bottled beer at the restaurant, next time I will.

Ideal consumption amount:  0 get something else

Similar Beers: I’d have to dig deep to make a recommendation of similar beers and frankly I don’t want to recommend beers I don’t like!

Ok, more soon…..about to crack a new 22oz that I’ve been a little excited about.  Until, keep drinking….

Leave a Reply

