Sorry, not Sorry

Another day, another beer I say…I’ve got a bunch of amazing beers in the fridge, seriously….world class suds coming soon.  In the meantime, I had a chance to sample from on of my favorite breweries…Stone.  Stone does a lot of collaboration beers which I really enjoy.  Mix up a few different beer styles and approaches to brewing…and, boom.  Hoppy, suddy happiness.

Sorry Not Sorry IPA

20151204_174413.jpg

Presentation: Good looking beer, not really as orange as the picture made it look much more “copper” in color with barely any head on it….I’d like to say I poured it perfectly but we all know that’s not the case.  Smelled really nice too….very heavy on the citrus and dank.  Really dank and you could almost smell the bitterness.

Style: American Double IPA

Brewery: Stone Brewing Company (part of Collaboration Series)

ABV: 9.3% (Wheelhouse)

IBU: 70 (this was perfect, didn’t give you a hop overload)

Method: 24oz bomber glass (with pizza!)

Overall taste:  If you like dank IPAs, you’ll love this one.  It’s quite good.  I tend to be more of a hop explosion kind of guy but this was VERY well done.  It had a very distinct citrus (orange?) flavor with just the right amount of bitterness.  It actually got a little better even as it warmed up….one of these beers that almost like a good wine opened up in the glass while I drank it.  YUM!

Recommended drinking location:   This was awesome with pizza, so….drink this while eating pizza.

Ideal consumption amount:  Probably only one, it’s 9.3 so it’s pretty strong.  I had one and had a pretty good buzz (please excuse the type-os) so don’t go crazy here.

Similar Beers:  Very similar to some of the Enjoy By stuff that Stone does…not a perfect comparison but not bad.

All in all, this was a very good beer and if I see them again, I’ll be getting more…..

53777874

Leave a Reply

